The Clergy.

Vienna is the seat of a Roman Catholic Archbishop, who bears the title of Prince and resides at Nr. 2, Rothenthurmstrasse. It has besides a General Vicar and a Metropolitan Chapter (St. Stephen Square).

The City is divided into ten parishes; the suburbs,

into twenty.

It has also a Savoyan Chapter, counting 36 canonesses (Johannesgasse 15); a chapter of Scotch Benedictines (Freiung), 16 monasteries, and 7 convents.

The united and the dissenting Greeks form two different communities. The former have their church in Dominican Square; the latter have two churches, one in Fleischmarkt, the other in Hafnersteig. The Protestants form likewise two congregations: the Lutherians belonging to the Augsburghian Creed having four parsons, and those belonging to the Reformed Helvetian Creed, who have only two parsons. Divine service is performed for the Lutherians in the church once belonging to the Dorothian nuns, 18 Dorothy street, while for the reformed it is performed at N°. 16 in the same street. There is a second Lutherian church at Gumpendorf (a suburb).

There are besides various national churches, for instance for the French, St. Anne's; for the Italians, the Minorites'; for the Bohemians, Maria-Stiegen; for the Poles, the Redeemer's; for the Hungarians, St. John's. The English and Russians have chapels attached to their

respective embassies.